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What’s New in 2019
January 1, 2020:

Glenwood will have a 0.5% Sales and Use Tax

Kanabec County will have a 0.5% Transit Sales and Use Tax

McLeod County will have a 0.5% Transit Sales and Use Tax

Perham will have a 0.5% Sales and Use Tax

Sauk Centre will have a 0.5% Sales and Use Tax and a $20 per vehicle Excise Tax
Scanlon will have a 0.5% Sales and Use Tax

Virginia will have a 1.0% Sales and Use Tax

West St. Paul will have a 0.5% Sales and Use Tax

Worthington will have a 0.5% Sales and Use Tax

October 1, 2019:

Avon has a 0.5% Sales and Use Tax

Benton County has a 0.5% Transit Sales and Use Tax

Blue Earth has a 0.5% Sales and Use Tax

Cambridge has a 0.5% Sales and Use Tax

Detroit Lakes has a 0.5% Sales and Use Tax

Duluth Sales and Use Tax rate increased to 1.5%

Elk River has a 0.5% Sales and Use Tax

Excelsior has a 0.5% Sales and Use Tax

International Falls has a 1.0% Sales and Use Tax

Minneapolis Lodging Tax increased to 3.0%

Rogers has a 0.25% Sales and Use Tax and a $20 per vehicle Excise Tax
St. Paul Lodging Tax increased to 7.0%

Two Harbors Sales and Use Tax rate increased to 1.0%

Willmar has a 0.5% Sales and Use Tax and a $20 per vehicle Excise Tax

July 1, 2019: Isanti County has a 0.5% Transit Sales and Use Tax

April 1, 2019:

Redwood County has a 0.5% Transit Sales and Use Tax
Waseca County has a 0.5% Transit Sales and Use Tax

Local Sales and Use Taxes

You must collect local sales tax based on where your customer receives the taxable product or service. Local

taxes apply to the same items and services as the state general rate sales tax (“state sales tax”).

The Minnesota Department of Revenue administers the local taxes shown on pages 6-9. Other local sales taxes
may also apply in some areas.

Sales and Use Tax Division — Mail Station 6330 — St. Paul, MN 55146-6330
Phone: 651-296-6181 or 1-800-657-3777
Email: salesuse.tax@state.mn.us

Stock No. 2800164, Revised November 2019

This fact sheet is intended to help you become more familiar with Minnesota tax
laws and your rights and responsibilities under the laws. Nothing in this fact sheet su-
persedes, alters, or otherwise changes any provisions of the tax law, administrative rules,

court decisions, or revenue notices. Alternative formats available upon request.
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Note: If you use a freight, delivery, or postal service to send goods to areas that have local sales taxes, you must
now collect those taxes. This may require you to register, collect, and remit additional local taxes.

When to Charge Local Tax
Generally, you must charge local sales tax on all sales made in a local taxing area that are subject to Minnesota
state sales tax. Charge local sales tax to customers when:

e They pick up items in the local area, even if the items are taken out of the local area.
e You perform taxable services in the local area.
¢ You ship taxable items into a local area.

How to Figure the Tax Rate
To figure the tax rate, add the state and local sales tax rates. Apply the combined rate to the taxable sales price;
round to the nearest full cent. For more information, see the Tax Rate Lookup Tools section.

How to Report Local Taxes
Report local taxes when you file your Minnesota Sales and Use Tax return. Local tax amounts are reported sepa-
rately from the state sales tax.

How to Register to Collect Local Sales Taxes
You can register from your Sales and Use Tax account in e-Services. You can:

e Easily add one or more local taxes while filing your Sales and Use Tax return.
e Quickly add all Local Tax and Other Taxes at one time.

For more information, see our e-Services webpage.

Tax Rate Lookup Tools

We offer the following tools to help you determine the tax rate:
e Sales Tax Rate Calculator — enter a street address or nine-digit ZIP code to look up a rate.
e Sales Tax Rate Map — an interactive map that allows you to search local tax rates across Minnesota.
e Sales Tax Rate Spreadsheet — download the spreadsheet and enter the nine-digit ZIP code to look up rates.

e Rates and Boundaries Data — download the index files to program rates into your point-of-sale system.

Note: These tools do not calculate special local taxes (lodging, entertainment, liquor, admissions, and restaurant
taxes). For more information, see Special Local Taxes on page 4.

Exemptions

Do not charge local sales tax on sales of taxable items when:
e Your customer gives you a completed Form ST3, Certificate of Exemption.
e You ship or deliver the items to a customer not located in a local tax area.

e You sell direct-to-home satellite (DBS) services (not cable). These services are subject to state sales tax,
but not local sales tax.

Federal Government Agencies
Federal government agencies are exempt from state and local sales and use taxes.

Minnesota State Agencies

Minnesota state agencies use a Direct Pay authorization to buy items. They do not pay sales tax to the seller—
they pay use tax directly to the state.
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Local Governments

Local governments are not required to pay general local sales taxes. An exemption certificate is not necessary.
However, local governments may need to pay special local taxes. For more information, see the Government —
Local Governments Industry Guide.

Vehicle Leases

Long-Term Leases
If you enter into a long-term lease for a vehicle that is principally based or garaged in an area with local sales tax,
local sales tax applies. The local tax applies even if the leasing company is located outside the city or county.

If the lease is for a vehicle that requires an up-front payment of state sales tax, local tax is also due up-front, if the
vehicle is principally garaged in the local area.

Short-Term Rentals
Vehicles leased or rented under agreements for less than 29 days are subject to local tax if the lease agreement is
entered into in the local taxing area, even if the lessee intends to use the vehicle outside the city or county.

Sourcing Motor Vehicle Leases
For vehicle leases or rentals, the source of the transaction for sales tax purposes depends on whether the customer
pays all at once or over time:

e Single payment — sourced to the location where the customer receives the property being leased.

e Multiple payments — sourced to the primary location of the property, which may not be the same location
as the business. The primary location is the address the customer provides for the property and does not
change by occasional use at different locations.

Note: These rules do not affect how sales tax applies to lump-sum or accelerated basis leases, or to the acquisition
of property for lease.

Vehicle Excise Tax

A $20 vehicle excise tax applies to sales of motor vehicles in the cities or counties listed in the table below. Any
person in the business of selling new or used motor vehicles at retail must submitted this tax to the Minnesota De-
partment of Revenue on your Sales and Use Tax return. For more information, see the Motor Vehicle Industry
Guide.

City/County Effective Date
Anoka County 10/1/2017
Beltrami County 4/1/2014
Carlton County 4/1/2015
Carver County 10/1/2017
Dakota County 10/1/2017
Goodhue County 1/1/2019
Hennepin County 10/1/2017
Kandiyohi County 4/1/2018

Otter Tail County 1/1/2016
Ramsey County 10/1/2017
Rogers 10/1/2019

St. Louis County 4/1/2015

Sauk Centre 1/1/2020

Scott County 10/1/2015
Transit Improvement Area 7/1/2008 —9/30/2017
Washington County 10/1/2017
Willmar 10/1/2019

3 Minnesota Revenue, Local Sales and Use Taxes



Note: The following cities also have a $20 vehicle excise tax on sales of motor vehicles made by dealers: Baxter,
Brainerd, Clearwater, Hutchinson, Mankato, New Ulm, and Rochester. Worthington’s Motor Vehicle Excise Tax
ended September 30, 2018. The Minnesota Department of Revenue does not administer these taxes. For more in-
formation, contact the cities directly.

Special Local Taxes

The Minnesota Department of Revenue administers special local taxes imposed in Detroit Lakes, Giants Ridge
Recreation Area, Mankato, Minneapolis, Proctor, Rochester, St. Cloud, and St. Paul.

For more information, see:
e Local Tax Rate Guide
e Minneapolis Special Taxes Fact Sheet
e Special Local Taxes Fact Sheet

Lodging Taxes

The Department of Revenue only administers the lodging taxes listed in the chart on pages 6-9. Many Minnesota
cities, towns, and areas impose a lodging tax that the Department of Revenue does not administer. For more infor-
mation on those lodging taxes, contact the city directly.

Local Use Tax

Local use tax applies when you buy items or services for use, storage, distribution, or consumption in the local
area without paying local sales tax to the seller. Use tax is similar to sales tax and the rates are identical. Use tax is
based on your cost of taxable purchases. Common examples of when use tax is due include:

¢ You buy items outside the local area and the seller does not charge local sales tax, and you use or store
the item in the local area.

e You buy a taxable item from an out-of-state seller who does not charge local sales tax.

For more information, see the Use Tax for Businesses and Use Tax for Individuals Fact Sheets.

Credit for Local Tax Paid

If you pay local sales tax in Minnesota to one locality but use the items in another area with a local tax, you are
allowed credit for the local sales tax you already paid. However, local tax paid at the time of purchase is not re-
fundable when the item is then used in another local tax jurisdiction.

Examples

In these examples, the Minnesota general rate sales tax always applies and local tax applies as indicated.

e A Duluth company sells and delivers items to a Hermantown business. The Duluth company is required
to collect the Hermantown and the St. Louis County Transit Sales Tax.

e A contractor buys and picks up materials in a city with a local tax. The contractor uses the materials in a
project located in an area without a local tax. Because the materials were picked up in an area with a local
tax, the local tax is due.

e A North Dakota contractor buys materials in North Dakota and pays that states sales tax. The materials
are brought into Minnesota and used at a construction site in Bemidji. The contractor owes both:

o Bemidji Local Use tax on the cost of the materials

o Use tax on the difference between the two states’ tax rates (because North Dakota’s state rate is
lower than Minnesota’s). Report the difference as variable rate use tax on your sales tax return.

e A person sells crafts in a city with a local tax. The seller must collect local tax whenever a customer takes
possession of an item in a local tax jurisdiction at the time of sale.

e A photographer takes pictures at a site where there is no local tax. The customer picks up the photos in a
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city with a local tax. Local tax is due because the customer takes possession of the photos in a city with a
local tax. If the photographer mails the photos to an area with a local tax, they must charge that local tax.

Legal References

Minnesota Statutes 297A.63, Use Taxes Imposed; Rates

Minnesota Statutes 297A.95, Coordination of state and local sales tax rates
Minnesota Statutes 297A.98, Local governments exempt from local sales taxes
Minnesota Statutes 297A.99, Local sales taxes

Other Fact Sheets

Minneapolis Special Local Taxes
Sales to Government

Special Local Taxes

Use Tax for Businesses

Use Tax for Individuals

Industry Guides
Government — Local Governments
Motor Vehicle
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Local Sales and Use Taxes (including Special Local Taxes)

City/County Type of Tax Begin Date Rate
Albert Lea Sales and Use Tax 4/1/06 0.50%
Anoka County Transit Sales and Use Tax 10/1/17 0.25%
Austin Sales and Use Tax 4/1/07 0.50%
Avon Sales and Use Tax 10/1/19 0.50%
Baxter Sales and Use Tax 10/1/06 0.50%
Becker County Transit Sales and Use Tax 7114 0.50%
Beltrami County Transit Sales and Use Tax 4/1/14 0.50%
Bemidiji Sales and Use Tax 1/1/06 0.50%
Benton County Transit Sales and Use Tax 10/1/19 0.50%
Blue Earth Sales and Use Tax 10/1/19 0.50%
Blue Earth County Transit Sales and Use Tax 4/1/16 0.50%
Brainerd Sales and Use Tax 4/1/07 0.50%
Brown County Transit Sales and Use Tax 4/1/16 0.50%
Cambridge Sales and Use Tax 10/1/19 0.50%
Carlton County Transit Sales and Use Tax 4/1/15 0.50%
Carver County Transit Sales and Use Tax 10/1/17 0.50%
Cass County Transit Sales and Use Tax 4/1/16 0.50%
Chisago County Transit Sales and Use Tax 4/1/16 0.50%
Clay County Sales and Use Tax 10/1/17 0.50%
Clearwater Sales and Use Tax 10/1/08 0.50%
Cloquet Sales and Use Tax 4/1/13 0.50%
Cook County Sales and Use Tax 4/1/10 1.00%
Transit Sales and Use Tax 1117 0.50%
Crow Wing County Transit Sales and Use Tax 4/1/16 0.50%
Dakota County Transit Sales and Use Tax 10/1/17 0.25%
Detroit Lakes Food and Beverage Tax* 4/1/11 1.00%
Sales and Use Tax 10/1/19 0.50%
Dodge County Transit Sales and Use Tax 1/1/19 0.50%
Douglas County Transit Sales and Use Tax 10/1/14 0.50%
Duluth Sales and Use Tax 10/1/19 (1) 1.50%
1/1/70 - 9/30/19 1.00%
East Grand Forks Sales and Use Tax 1/1/18 1.00%
Elk River Sales and Use Tax 10/1/19 0.50%
Excelsior Sales and Use Tax 10/1/19 0.50%
Fairmont Sales and Use Tax 10/1/17 0.50%
Fergus Falls Sales and Use Tax 1/1/18 0.50%
1/1/12 - 12/31/16 0.50%
Fillmore County Transit Sales and Use Tax 1/1/15 0.50%
Freeborn County Transit Sales and Use Tax 1/1/16 0.50%
Garrison, Kathio, West Mille Lacs Sanitary Sales and Use Tax 1/1/18 1.0%
District (GKWMLL Sanitary District)
Giants Ridge Recreation Area Admissions and Recreation Tax* 71111 2.00%
Food and Beverage Tax* 71111 1.00%
Lodging Tax* 7111 2.00%
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City/County Type of Tax Begin Date Rate
Glenwood Sales and Use Tax 1/1/20 0.50%
Goodhue County Transit Sales and Use Tax 1/1/19 0.50%
Hennepin County Sales and Use Tax 1/1/07 0.15%
Transit Sales and Use Tax 10/1/17 0.50%
Hermantown Sales and Use Tax 4/1/13 1.00%
1/1/00 — 3/31/13 0.50%
Hubbard County Transit Sales and Use Tax 7/115 0.50%
Hutchinson Sales and Use Tax 1/1/12 0.50%
International Falls Sales and Use Tax 10/1/19 1.00%
Isanti County Transit Sales and Use Tax 7/1/19 0.50%
Kanabec County Transit Sales and Use Tax 1/1/20 0.50%
Kandiyohi County Transit Sales and Use Tax 4/1/18 0.50%
Lake County Transit Sales and Use Tax 41117 0.50%
Lanesboro Sales and Use Tax 1/1/12 0.50%
Lyon County Transit Sales and Use Tax 10/1/15 0.50%
Mankato Sales Tax 4/1/92 0.50%
Use Tax 1/1/00 0.50%
Food and Beverage Tax* 4/1/09 0.50%
Entertainment Tax* 4/1/09 0.50%
Marshall Sales and Use Tax 4/1/13 0.50%
Food and Beverage Tax* 71113 1.50%
McLeod County Transit Sales and Use Tax 1/1/20 0.50%
Medford Sales and Use Tax 4/1/13 0.50%
Mille Lacs County Transit Sales and Use Tax 1117 0.50%
Minneapolis Sales and Use Tax 2/1/87 0.50%
Downtown Liquor Tax* 2/1/87 3.00%
Downtown Restaurant Tax* 2/1/87 3.00%
Entertainment Tax* 10/1/69 3.00%
Lodging Tax* 10/1/19 (2) 3.00%
10/1/17 — 9/30/19 (3) 2.125%
4/1/02 — 9/30/17 2.625%
Moose Lake Sales and Use Tax 10/1/17 0.50%
Morrison County Transit Sales and Use Tax 1/1/18 0.50%
Mower County Transit Sales and Use Tax 1/1/18 0.50%
New London Sales and Use Tax 10/1/17 0.50%
New Ulm Sales and Use Tax 4/1/01 0.50%
Nicollet County Transit Sales and Use Tax 1/1/18 0.50%
North Mankato Sales and Use Tax 10/1/08 0.50%
OImsted County Transit Sales and Use Tax 71117 (4) 0.50%
Transit Sales and Use Tax 1/1/14 — 6/30/17 0.25%
Otter Tail County Transit Sales and Use Tax 1/1/16 0.50%
Owatonna Sales and Use Tax 4/1/07 — 6/30/11 0.50%
Perham Sales and Use Tax 1/1/20 0.50%
Pine County Transit Sales and Use Tax 1117 0.50%
Polk County Transit Sales and Use Tax 1/1/18 0.25%
Proctor Sales and Use Tax (5) 10/1/17 1.00%

Sales and Use

4/1/00 — 9/30/17
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City/County Type of Tax Begin Date Rate
Proctor (cont.) Food and Beverage Tax* 4/1/15 1.00%1.00
Ramsey County Transit Sales and Use Tax 10/1/17 0.50%
Redwood County Transit Sales and Use Tax 4/1/19 0.50%
Rice County Transit Sales and Use Tax 1/1/14 0.50%
Rochester Sales and Use Tax (6) 1/1/16 0.75%
Sales and Use Tax 1/1/93 — 12/31/15 0.50%
Lodging Tax* 9/1/71 7.00%
Rogers Sales and Use Tax 10/1/19 0.25%
St. Cloud Liquor Tax* 2/1/87 1.00%
Food Tax* 2/1/87 1.00%
St. Cloud Area (7) Sales and Use Tax 1/1/03 0.50%
St. Louis County Transit Sales and Use Tax 4/1/15 0.50%
St. Paul Sales Tax 9/1/93 0.50%
Use Tax 1/1/00 0.50%
Lodging Tax less than 50 rooms* 4/1/04 3.00%
Lodging Tax 50+ rooms* 10/1/19 (9) 7.00%
4/1/04 — 09/30/19 6.00%
Sauk Centre Sales and Use Tax 1/1/20 0.50%
Scanlon Sales and Use Tax 1/1/20 0.50%
Scott County Transit Sales and Use Tax 10/1/15 0.50%
Sherburne County Transit Sales and Use Tax 1/1/19 0.50%
Spicer Sales and Use Tax 10/1/17 0.50%
Stearns County Transit Sales and Use Tax 1/1/18 0.25%
Steele County Transit Sales and Use Tax 4/1/15 0.50%
Todd County Transit Sales and Use Tax 1/1/15 0.50%
Transit Improvement Area (8) Sales and Use Tax 7/1/08 — 9/30/17 0.25%
Two Harbors Sales and Use Tax 10/1/19 (10) 1.00%
4/1/99 - 9/30/19 0.50%
Virginia Sales and Use Tax 1/1/20 1.00%
Wabasha County Transit Sales and Use Tax 4/1/16 0.50%
Wadena County Transit Sales and Use Tax 4/1/14 0.50%
Walker Sales and Use Tax 1118 1.50%
Waseca County Transit Sales and Use Tax 4/1/19 0.50%
Washington County Transit Sales and Use Tax 10/1/17 0.25%
West St. Paul Sales and Use Tax 1/1/20 0.50%
Willmar Sales and Use Tax 10/1/19 0.50%
1/1/06 — 12/31/12 0.50%
Winona County Transit Sales and Use Tax 1117 0.50%
Worthington Sales and Use Tax 1/1/20 0.50%
4/1/09 — 9/30/18 0.50%
Wright County Transit Sales and Use Tax 10/1/17 0.50%

(1) Duluth Sales and Use Tax increased to 1.50% (from 1.00%) effective 10/1/19.
(2) Minneapolis Lodging Tax increased from 2.125% to 3.00% effective 10/1/19.
(3) Minneapolis Lodging Tax decreased to 2.125% (from 2.625%) effective 10/1/17.

(4) Olmsted County Transit Sales and Use Tax increased to 0.5% (from 0.25%) effective 7/1/17.

(5) Proctor Sales and Use Tax increased to 1.0% (from 0.5%) effective 10/1/17.
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(6) Rochester Sales and Use Tax increased to 0.75% (from 0.5%) effective 1/1/16.

(7) St. Cloud Area Tax includes the cities of St. Augusta, St. Cloud, St. Joseph, Sartell, Sauk Rapids, and Waite
Park.

(8) Transit Improvement Area includes the counties of Anoka, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, and Washington.
(9) St. Paul Lodging Tax increased to 7.00% (from 6.00%) effective 10/1/19.

(10) Two Harbors Sales and Use Tax increased to 1.0% (from 0.5%) effective 10/1/19.

* For more information about special local taxes, see:

e Minneapolis Special Local Taxes Fact Sheet
e Special Local Taxes Fact Sheet
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